top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay Kuever

Working to Become an Effective Ally

As a whole, the world has dramatically shifted since the beginning of 2020. What promised to be a fresh start to a new decade has quickly dissolved into one of the most harrowing. Starting from the ongoing threats of sickness due to a global pandemic and leading directly into the devastatingly horrific acts of brutality taking the lives of George Floyd in Minneapolis, MN. Breonna Taylor in Louisville, KY. Ahmaud Arbery in Glynn County, GA. Tony McDade in Tallahassee, FL. and Dion Johnson in Phoenix, AZ., and others.


The unfortunate truth of the matter is that the issue of racism, systemic oppression, and violence against Black people is not new.


With the resurgence of the #BlackLivesMatter hashtag, you, like myself, have probably been asking "what can I do?" For many, this question can be directed towards how to act as an ally in your personal lives or as a leader of diversity, equality, and inclusion professionally. More importantly, how do we act as effective allies while still being aware of the privileges afforded to us by our identities?


Recently, in my own life, I’ve faced the realities of my privileges and how they differ from those of my peers around me. As a mixed-race woman of both Filipina and White descent, I’ve personally dealt with varying levels of racism throughout my life, from seemingly harmless offhanded jokes about being Asian to moments of fear being around individuals who vocalized their distrust and hatred of anyone with a darker skin tone, myself included. These were also moments that my upbringing had taught me to bury, hide, and conceal with defense mechanisms like humor and apologies. Moments where my identity became lost for the sake of self-preservation. Even more recently, I’ve come to realize that my inaction to hold the people around me accountable for the things they say and do are equally as harmful.


While I can and will never understand what it is like to be a Black person in society, I can reinforce the importance of open conversation and education in becoming a better ally and advocate for BIPOC through my own self-education.



Sherard Robbins, the Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Visceral Change, states in his book A Diamond is a Diamond: The Core Five Components to Social Justice, “allies are expected to not only acknowledge, but to raise awareness of the social-communal and workplace inequities between people as a way to help make tangible these negative tropes and trends and their harmful or unfair consequences and impacts.” Moreover, he believes that allyship, as well as advocacy, comes in varying levels of risk from high to low.


While finding the level of risk you are most comfortable to act on, here are some points to take into consideration when learning to become a better ally and advocate.


Being an ally or advocate is not passive.


While one can believe in diversity, equality, and inclusion, an ally must also live and practice these ideals. Look to uplift and give voice to those with less privilege; to defend and represent the marginalized.


Making mistakes is inevitable.


No person is truly perfect and with all the answers, missteps will happen. Be willing to take feedback for your actions and use that information to correct your course. Take accountability.


Educate yourself over making assumptions.


Remind yourself that your privilege does not mean you are the solution, but rather the stepping stone for reform. Don’t be afraid to ask thoughtful questions in order to educate yourself about the issues and struggles of your peers.


65 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page